Spiced Hazelnut Carob Cookies

IMG_20150315_152958  IMG_20150315_152703

Once in a while I make something that is so good I can’t stop thinking about it. About a week ago I made a batch of gluten-free, vegan cookies using carob powder. I wasn’t expecting much in terms of great results with these carob spice cookies because a few days earlier, I had made a batch of carob chip cookies from the same website, and the results were kind of disappointing.

So back in the kitchen I went with a new cookie recipe and some trepidation.

This recipe yielded 5 cookies in all. They were large, hefty mound cookies that held their shape well. Still I was a bit nervous. You see I may have completed a pastry chef program at a local community college a while back BUT I am not a seasoned vegan, gluten-free baker. It’s always a gamble when you omit eggs, butter, and all purpose flour, the things I was trained to use over and over again and instead substitute with flax eggs, a flour alternative like rice, almond or tapioca and some kind of vegetable oil, to keep things together.

So when I saw those beautiful cookie mounds coming out of the oven looking perfect, I was quite pleased. But what about the taste, you ask? Well after allowing the cookies to cool down for 20 minutes or so, I bit into one. It had a crisp exterior and a soft chewy interior. I used hazelnut flour instead of the almond flour listed in the recipe and the results were fantastic. The texture was chewy and aromatic from the baked hazelnut flour, the carob and the warming spices.

Between my husband and I, the 5 cookies did not last long. They were devoured on a Sunday afternoon.

IMG_20150315_151916

Spiced hazelnut carob cookies

(adapted from healthfulpursuit.com)

Ingredients

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups ground hazelnuts (or almond flour)

  • ¼ cup arrowroot powder

  • 3 tablespoons carob powder

  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

  • ¼ teaspoon ground cardamom

  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger

  • ½ teaspoon baking soda

  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt

Wet Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup safflower oil (or another vegetable oil)

  • ⅓ cup maple syrup, honey, or another liquid sweetener

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

  2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl, whisking until combined. Set aside.

  3. Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl, whisking until combined.

  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix with a spoon until fully incorporated. The mixture will be coarse, just keep mixing it until all of the dry bits are incorporated into a large mass of coarse dough.

  5. Scoop cookie dough into a ¼ cup measuring cup, turn it over and drop it onto the prepared baking sheet, leaving some space (1-inch) between each cookie.

  6. Gently flatten the cookies. Place cookies in the pre-heated oven to bake for 10-15 minutes. Mine were ready in 10 minutes.

  7. Remove the baking sheet from the oven and allow cookies to cool on the pan for 20-30 minutes. Dig in and enjoy! They won’t last long.

About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiced Hazelnut Carob Cookies

Leave a Reply

