crispy crust: sausage & mushroom pizza

On New Year’s Eve I made a pizza. Big whoop, right? Who can’t make pizza?

However, I also made my own pizza dough! It wasn’t my first time making dough from scratch but it was my first time in a long time. The last time it didn’t go so well. I always had it my head that anything with yeast is complicated and I therefore avoided working with yeast. Yeast phobia be gone!

I found an easy pizza dough recipe on this magnificent blog and set to work, thinking to myself, “this isn’t going to work”…”it doesn’t look right”…”I’m screwed, I should have bought the ready-made pizza dough from the market.”

Not only did this pizza dough come together effortlessly, it swelled up like a pregnant belly and rolled out beautifully. I left the dough in an oiled bowl and covered it with a tea towel, to rise for several hours, punching it periodically, to build up the gluten (and maybe my muscles), but not too much so that it became too rubbery.

Meanwhile the pizza stone was heating in the oven.

Since I also had a request for these delicious sausages from my husband as a topping for the pizza, I picked some up. As the dough was rising and the sausages were grilling, I mixed up the tomato sauce from a can of organic crushed tomatoes, adding some dried basil, honey and black pepper. I sliced the Cremini mushrooms and the Cipollini onions. Finally, I  grated the mozzarella cheese. And since I decided right there and then, that salty Greek feta would go nicely with the spicy sausage, I added some too.

Have you ever tasted bread or pizza baked on a stone? Well, it’s a thing of wonder. The crust becomes so crispy, your neighbours can probably hear you bite into it and the inside remains soft and pillowy. I must say, the smell in the house that night was intoxicating.

sausage, onion & mushroom pizza

pizza dough

tomato sauce (see below)

3 hot Italian pork sausages, grilled and sliced

3 Cipollini onions, peeled, sliced and roasted in oven w. some olive oil

1 1/2 cups sliced Cremini mushrooms

1 1/2 cups grated mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup Greek feta cheese crumbled

Instructions

Pre-heat your oven to 375 C. If you are using a pizza stone insert it into oven now. Be very careful when you remove it later. It will be very hot. You might also be able to put the raw pizza dough directly on a cold pizza stone but I haven’t tried it that way.

Sprinkle cornmeal on your work surface. Roll out your pizza dough. When the desired size is reached fold over dough in half (or into four for easy transferring) and place onto pizza pan (or hot stone) opening up the dough carefully. Adjust edges and smooth out any bumps to ensure pizza dough reaches edges.

Smother sauce onto dough. Sprinkle some of the mozzarella cheese. Scatter the onions and mushrooms and sausage onto the pizza. Sprinkle the rest of the mozzarella and the feta cheese.

Bake in oven at 375 C for 30 – 40 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and golden. Remove from oven. Place pizza onto stove top or a flat surface to rest for a few minutes. Remove from pizza pan or slide off of stone onto flat surface and cut into pieces.

2 minute tomato sauce – for large-size pizza

3/4  to 1 cup of canned crushed tomato

1 tsp honey

1-2  tsp dried basil

freshly grated pepper

Place all ingredients in a small bowl and mix well.

About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to crispy crust: sausage & mushroom pizza

  1. kickpleat says:

    I’ve been wanting a pizza stone – or more accurately, just some ceramic or terra cotta tiles that I can use as a pizza stone. Looks amazing!

    • thefatfig says:

      kickpleat, Thanks for your dough recipe! I inherited the stone from my mom. I had it lurking around my house for at least a year before I decided to use it. I’m such a creature of habit, I’d become so accustomed to the perforated metal pizza pans!

  2. Ivy says:

    Chronia Polla Joanna. Your pizza sounds delicious. I also use metal pizza pans but wish I had a pizza stone!

    • thefatfig says:

      Welcome Ivy! Thank you for the wishes. I’m slowly getting accustomed to using the pizza stone. Today I made focaccia bread with leeks and garlic. Nostimotato!!

Leave a Reply

