atchoo! ginger-garlic-lemon tea

Are you coming down with a cold?

Seems plenty of folks celebrated the holidays under blankets cradling a box of kleenex. I thought I had escaped the dreaded cold bug going around these past 2 weeks until last night when I sneezed and my nose began to run. It’s still running on and off, but I’m not worried because I found something that works wonderfully and it’s not from a drug store.

There are many homemade cold remedies circulating. The one I will share with you today, I came across on someone’s blog last winter and I vowed that I would try it next time I had the sniffles. Well, the opportunity has arisen.

This tea isn’t meant to be tasty but generally these cold remedies seldom are. It’s hot and piquant with mild garlic undertones. A squeeze of lemon always makes things go down easier and this is no exception. You may also add some honey to sweeten things up a bit.

The result? It dried up my sinuses enough to help me get to sleep last night. My husband also jumped on the bandwagon and started drinking this tea last night. He likes the peppery ginger and pungent garlic taste.

This morning I made the tea gain. So far I’ve consumed two mugs of it and it’s only noon. My favourite part of making this tea is eating the soft cloves of boiled garlic afterward. Vampires be warned!

ginger-garlic-lemon tea

2 tbs grated fresh ginger

3-5 cloves of peeled whole garlic

3 cups water

fresh squeezed lemon juice

honey (optional)

Directions

Add the water to a pot. Place grated ginger and garlic into water. Wait until it all comes to a rolling boil. Let stand for 2 minutes. Strain into a mug. Squeeze some lemon into tea-cup. Add honey if desired. For best results drink hot.

Tip: Don’t throw out the used grated ginger and garlic if you want to make this tea again. I used the same ingredients twice and did not lose out on the potency or flavour of the tea.

About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to atchoo! ginger-garlic-lemon tea

  1. kickpleat says:

    I remember making something similar a few years ago when I was fighting off a cold. I hope it helped!!! I also remember thinking that I kind of liked the flavour of the sweet and sharp and garlicky (maybe I share some of your husband’s taste buds). I hope you’re well on the mend!

  2. Shira says:

    My go-to hot drink! Without the garlic, though I am sure that is integral to busting the oncoming cold!

    • thefatfig says:

      hi Shira, welcome! I love ginger tea also. The garlic makes this tea taste less palatable but yes, I do believe it’s integral to getting rid of a cold. Raw garlic is also very good as a cure all.

      • Shira says:

        I see that you liked my marinated kale post – let me know what you think when you try it if you get a chance – nice looking blog! I am from Vancouver so a fellow Canadian, and just started blogging regularly a few months ago. I like the food philosophy – I am a veggie too married to a meat eater. Cheers!
        Shira

Leave a Reply

