comfort & joy: delicious food over the holidays

Christmas Day is officially over and everyone is now gearing up for the New Year’s Eve count down.

Did you have an enjoyable Christmas? What was the highlight of your holidays?

Mine was baking sweets to share with family and cooking up some delicious meals.

I made these cranberry-lemon squares to take to my in-laws. My mother-in-law loves cranberries. I loved the citrus-buttery crust holding up all those tart berries. It was the perfect combination of richness and tartness.

Holidays wouldn’t be the same without some dark chocolate. These cashew butter cups are vegan, gluten-free and delicious. Made with dates, cashews, cocoa powder and chocolate, healthy never tasted so good. The recipe is from celiacteen.com but it is not available on her blog. However, you can find the recipe in this wonderful book.

I happen to love shortbread so I whipped up a batch of fig-studded shortbread cookies. You could say I kind of Greek-ified them by adding chewy fig bits to the ‘melt in your mouth’ buttery cookie base. Yummy!

For my nieces, I made these uber-sweet confetti squares, which I believe they enjoyed. Personally, I didn’t think I’d like them but I was wrong. Despite not being a fan of marshmallows, I found these little peanut butter/butterscotch gems pleasantly delicious!

This colourful pasta dish, decked with all kinds of flavours and textures like leeks, kale, pine nuts, feta and sun-dried tomatoes, is now my husband’s new favourite. Recipe coming soon.

Lastly, the holidays wouldn’t be the same without leftovers from Christmas day. Here we have my mom’s leftover chestnut rice, teamed with an organic roast turkey drumstick and some mushroom gravy that I made lickety-split.

Wishing you all a prosperous, joyful, healthy and delicious New Year!

About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to comfort & joy: delicious food over the holidays

  1. kickpleat says:

    Looks like a big ol’ baking and cooking haul you did this holiday season. Everything looks delicious….and I love those pb cups with dates and other dried fruits! Yum!

Leave a Reply

