southern comfort: chicken stew and biscuits

This past weekend as I was puttering around the kitchen trying to decide what to bake, I came to an epiphany of sorts.

“Jo” I said to myself (in my head of course) “you always bake sweet things, why don’t you make something savoury instead, with cheese or something.”

So I surfed online and found kickpleat’s recipe for dill, red onion & cheese drop biscuits and set to work.  I didn’t have all the required ingredients so I used substitutions. The recipe called for buttermilk but since I did not have any, I used watered down yoghurt. I also used spelt flour instead of all-purpose. Suffice to say my biscuits turned out dry and chewy. And as if that weren’t enough, my crappy oven, which does not regulate a consistent temperature, also contributed to the dry biscuits.

I’m quite certain that if I stuck to the original drop biscuit recipe everything would have turned out great so rather than post my dud recipe here, I’ll link back to kickpleat’s biscuit recipe. As for my biscuits, I ate a few and left the rest on the counter hoping that they would get better with time. They didn’t.

Later that day as I was contemplating dinner, I came across a recipe for chicken pot pie in this cookbook. I scanned the list of required ingredients and I was in luck! I had a package of organic chicken thighs in the fridge. I had a sheet of puff pastry in the freezer. I also had leeks and frozen peas and carrots. And, I knew I still had fresh thyme outside in my herb garden, even in the month of December, because winter weather has not arrived yet – hurray!

Suddenly, I had a eureka moment and realized that instead of covering the pot pie with the puff pastry, I could add the already baked drop biscuits to the chicken stew and re-bake everything together in a casserole dish. Brilliant, right?! Well, if you prefer overly dark drop biscuits, follow this process. Otherwise, I suggest dropping the biscuit batter in spoonfuls directly onto the chicken stew and then bake everything together. This way you don’t get my overly dark drop biscuits, which look deceptively like chicken pieces in the photos.

Despite all the trials and tribulations, the end result was mind-blowing! The meal turned out so delicious that even after dinner, I kept going back to the leftovers in the kitchen to shovel spoonfuls of chicken stew in my mouth, and to pluck away at the half chewy, half soggy biscuits, and basically make a mess of my face as the stew juices rolled down my chin. I was in heaven!

By the end of the evening, there were no more leftovers. I had eaten every last spoonful of the lemony chicken stew and gobbled up every last chewy biscuit.

kickpleat’s cheesy herby oniony drop biscuits

chicken stew

recipe adapted from Under the High Chair

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 leek, sliced thinly

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup flour

2 cups chicken stock

1/4 cup white wine (optional)

1 tsp fresh thyme, washed and plucked

1 tbs lemon juice

zest of 1 lemon

1/4 cup half & half cream

salt & pepper to taste

3/4 cup frozen peas

2 medium carrots diced

6 cooked chicken thighs, boneless/skinless

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F

Prep 1: Season chicken with salt and pepper and bake or grill until cooked and juices run clear. Remove from oven, set aside to cool and cut chicken into pieces. 

Prep 2: Prepare the recipe for the drop biscuits but don’t bake.

1. Melt butter in a large skillet on medium heat.

2. Sautè leeks and garlic for around 5 minutes or until leeks and garlic soften.  Add in the flour and stir until mixture is golden. You can add more butter if you need. Stir in chicken stock, white wine, thyme, lemon juice and lemon zest.

3. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer. Add in half & half and continue to simmer for 5 minutes until mixture thickens.  Stir in frozen green peas, diced carrots, cooked chicken and season with salt & pepper.

4. Pour chicken stew into a large baking dish or Pyrex casserole dish.

5. Add spoonfuls of biscuit batter over the stew just like you would do for a fruit cobbler. Bake in oven for approximately 30 minutes (or longer) until the biscuits are golden brown. Remove from oven. Let stand for 5 minutes. Serve in bowls.

Enjoy the aroma, taste and texture of this amazing dish!


About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to southern comfort: chicken stew and biscuits

  1. kickpleat says:

    Yum, I love pot pie with biscuit topping and I remember making one ages ago for my blog (http://everybodylikessandwiches.com/2008/04/cmon-spring-lets-get-on-with-it-chicken-pot-pie-with-cheddar-biscuit-topping/). I think it’s time to revisit, especially since the weather is chilly and it sounds like a good warmer-upper!!

    • thefatfig says:

      kickpleat, I saw that chicken pot pie with cheddar biscuit recipe and I was going to make it but again I didn’t have all the proper ingredients. Next time for sure. There will be many opportunities for comfort food.

Leave a Reply

