it’s all about the chocolate: banana muffins with chocolate chips and walnuts

When it comes to muffins, I can’t say that I go crazy over them. I don’t buy them at coffee shops and if I were at a buffet brunch I’d pass them up for something else like pancakes or waffles. That being said, I make exceptions to muffins that have some kind of irresistible ingredient inside like these Callebaut chocolate chips.

This muffin recipe is adapted from the rebar modern food cookbook. I’ve recreated many recipes from the rebar cookbook over the years and I have not been disappointed. This muffin recipe is actually a banana bread recipe featured in rebar’s cookbook. Despite this change, the muffins do bake up nicely with a crunchy, golden domed muffin top. I followed the recipe almost religiously, except I used yoghurt instead of sour cream and flax meal instead of wheat germ and it all turned out a-ok.

If you can find Callebaut chocolate chips, I suggest you use them because they are delicious. It’s a dark, plump chocolate chip with a buttery bite that melts gently on your tongue. The muffin itself is soft on the inside with a slight banana aroma. And remember that the muffin has flax inside so it also provides you with a bit of Omega 3 fatty acid.

This recipe yielded 15 muffins. I used my favourite #10 ice cream scoop which is normally meant for cookies but I like the way it neatly deposits the batter in each paper cup without leaving a mess.

banana muffins with chocolate chips & walnuts (makes 1 – 9″x5″ loaf or 15 muffins) ~ adapted from rebar modern food cookbook

2 1/2 cups unbleached flour

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup flax meal (toasted)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

4 eggs

3 very ripe bananas

1/4 cup 2% yoghurt

3/4 cup walnuts, roasted and chopped

Directions

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 F. Butter or oil the muffin tins enough for 15 muffins. Place a muffin paper liner into each well.

2. Combine the flour, flax meal, baking powder, soda and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

3. With your mixer stand, whip together the butter and 2 sugars. Add in the eggs one at a time until well blended.  Mash the bananas in a bowl and add in the yogurt. Add one-third of the flour mix into the creamed sugar-butter mixture. Next stir in the banana mush and stir everything well. Add the rest of the flour and mix on low-speed until all combined. Do not overmix. Fold in the walnuts and chocolate chips.

4. Using an ice cream scoop, drop the batter into the paper liners until the batter is just slightly below the top of the muffin well. Do not overfill. Bake for 40 minutes until the tops of the muffins are firm and spring back when lightly touched. Cool the muffins in the pan for 5 minutes. Remove the muffins and cool completely on a cooling rack or dig in while hot and fragrant.

About thefatfig

As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible. I also love desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can, especially now more than ever with my gluten-free, anti-inflammatory journey. Although not a vegan nor a vegetarian, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it’s all about the chocolate: banana muffins with chocolate chips and walnuts

  1. These look dangerously good- thank you!

  2. kickpleat says:

    I love the rebar cookbook too! And I’ve never made these muffins – must give them a try. And I’m a fan of callebault chocolate – I use it always 🙂

Leave a Reply

