when life gives you corn, make corn tortilla pie

This past week I embarked on a new diet regimen. I started eating gluten-free.

You see, I have been experiencing a myriad of body aches with muscle and joint pain, along with fatigue and brain fog. Numerous sessions of physiotherapy, acupuncture and exercise could not fully resolve the symptoms.  I felt that my crappy mattress was also contributing to the pain. I could barely get out of bed in the morning. I felt like an 80-year-old!

Not once did it occur to me that my symptoms were diet related. And by diet I mean a gluten-based diet. Was this my body’s way of telling me to ease off all the bread, pizza, pasta and baked goods I was consuming?

My sleuthing tendencies led me to several online sources about Celiac disease, wheat sensitivities and gluten-free living. I read a LOT about this topic. It began to make perfect sense. I was definitely displaying a handful of the symptoms shown on the website. Wow!

Once I made the conscious decision to eliminate all forms of wheat from my diet, things began to change almost immediately. The first day I felt alright. The second day I had energy and felt more alert. Today is the third day of being gluten-free and for the first time in weeks, I’m not feeling the intense muscle and  joint pain. My neck, shoulders, head, wrists, fingers and lower back feel much better. The brain fog and fatigue are but a distant memory.

To help me along with the transition to this gluten elimination diet, I have been sourcing some new recipes, like this gluten-free tortilla pie. It looks like lasagna but it’s made with corn tortillas instead of lasagna noodles. Keeping with the theme of Mexican flavours, I loaded all kinds of great things into this dish like salsa, kidney beans, onions, corn and mozzarella cheese. My version does not strictly adhere to the original recipe posted in Vegetarian Times. I used what I had in my kitchen. I suggest you do the same. You can add all kinds of ingredients to this dish. Kickpleat over at ‘Everybody Likes Sandwiches’ adds rice and a variety of zippy spices to her version

I baked the pie for around 40 minutes until the cheese had melted and fused all the different layers into a deliciously fragrant concoction. My husband raved about it when I got home, telling me that he REALLY enjoyed the tortilla pie. And since I had not tried any myself yet, I cut up a big slab and dug in. It was indeed delicious! So much so, that I ended up having a second helping.

Mexican corn tortilla pie

8 – 10 small corn tortillas

1 jar of salsa ( I used the entire jar)

1/2 onion, sliced into rings

1 large can red kidney beans

1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

1/3 cup frozen corn niblets

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 C. Add 1/4 cup of salsa to the base of a Pyrex or similar type oven-proof dish.

2. Lay 4 or 5 corn tortillas on the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle some kidney beans, onions, corn and grated cheese over top.

3. Lay 4 or 5 more tortillas over the previous layer. Again add your chosen ingredients to the new layer. Keep doing this process until you are happy with the pie. You can keep going as high as you like or until you have used up all your ingredients.

4. Place the dish in the oven on a middle rack and allow to cook thoroughly. The scent of the tortilla pie wafting throughout your house will let you know when it’s ready.

5. Remove dish from oven and let rest for 5 minutes. Cut the pie into square slabs or wedges and serve hot with sour cream, avocado and hot sauce if you like.

About thefatfig

I cook, bake and write about food. As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible, but sometimes I give in to my cravings like seeking out the newest fish & chips joint in the city. I also love eating desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can. I'm not a strict vegetarian - I eat meat once or twice a month. However, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. I've lived in Toronto, Canada my entire life except for a 5 year stint in Athens, Greece. I love to travel and explore bustling cities and quaint towns with my radar in search of a great new eatery or bakery. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when life gives you corn, make corn tortilla pie

  1. kickpleat says:

    Hmmm, I always feel that way! I just chalk it up to old age – I don’t think I could give up bread though as it’s my most favorite thing ever. Moderation is my key, though it’s hard when so much goodness is to be had in wheat. Sigh!

    • thefatfig says:

      kickpleat, I love bread, which is why I have replaced wheat bread with gluten-free rice bread. I’m amazed at how many gluten-free products are out there on the market that mimic everyday products like crackers, brownies, cereal. Mind you I much rather make my own gf baked goods. I’m not planning on doing this gf diet forever. Just until the wheat sensitivity diminishes and then I will slowly ease into it again.

Leave a Reply

