curry roast potatoes


Last Saturday I went shopping for groceries at a downtown supermarket that specializes in local food and is certified by LFP (Local Food Plus), Canada’s Local Sustainable Food System Organization.

As I was strolling past the fresh produce, I spotted some gorgeous Canadian yellow fleshed organic potatoes. In a pinch, I grabbed a bag full and dropped them in my cart.

This past Sunday I decided to make some roast potatoes to accompany the tandoori chicken I was preparing. The potatoes were “out of this world” amazing! They were soft and pillowy with a crispy skin. My husband who seldom goes back to the kitchen for a second helping, did just that.

When I make roast potatoes I use a healthy dose of good quality olive oil. No skimping here. I also picked up a habit from my mom, who cuts up a whole onion and scatters the segments over the potatoes. Trust me it gets better. And finally I peel some garlic cloves and drop them whole into the potatoes. Another mom-inspired idea. You see where I’m going with this?

In terms of seasonings, I keep it simple. Fresh ground pepper, a bit of salt, more olive oil and in this case I added some curry powder to compliment our Indian-themed dinner.

curry roast potatoes (makes 4 hearty servings)

6 potatoes (red or yellow) with skins on and chopped into quarters

1 large onion peeled and cut into quarters

6 cloves garlic, peeled

1/2 cup Greek olive oil and 2 tbs for oiling pan

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp fresh black pepper

1/2 tsp curry powder (optional)

Directions:

Wash potatoes and cut them into quarters. Drizzle 2 tbs of the olive oil into the pan first. Place the potatoes into the baking pan.

Peel the onion and cut it into quarters. Separate the segments and scatter them over top the potatoes.

Peel the garlic cloves and toss them whole into the pan.

Pour the rest of the olive oil over the potatoes ensuring that it covers all the potatoes liberally.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper and curry powder (if using).

Bake at 400 degrees Celsius for 45 minutes or until the potatoes are golden brown and can be easily pierced with a fork.

Remove from oven and inhale deeply. Feel free to pluck out one of the garlic cloves and eat it savouring the sweetness of the cooked garlic with its caramelized bits. I do it all the time. Enjoy!

About thefatfig

I cook, bake and write about food. As a food conscious consumer, I try to eat local and healthy whenever possible, but sometimes I give in to my cravings like seeking out the newest fish & chips joint in the city. I also love eating desserts but I do try to put a healthier spin on them when I can. I'm not a strict vegetarian - I eat meat once or twice a month. However, I do cook a lot of veggie-based meals and often prefer them to meat-based dishes. I've lived in Toronto, Canada my entire life except for a 5 year stint in Athens, Greece. I love to travel and explore bustling cities and quaint towns with my radar in search of a great new eatery or bakery. While in Toronto, you will find me at farmer's market perusing the local produce and fresh baked goods or you can spot me at a supermarket ogling the imported cheeses, jams, teas and chocolates. Food is meant to be shared. Welcome to my blog!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to curry roast potatoes

  1. kickpleat says:

    Hooray for your new blog!! I’ll add it to my feed reader :) These potatoes sound amazing – i love the addition of curry. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

